Deadly Shooting Raises Questions About "Stand Your Ground" Laws

LITTLE ROCK, AR -- On Saturday morning, 15-year-old Adrian Broadway was shot and killed. According to police, 48-year-old Willie Noble is charged with first-degree murder, committing a terrorist act, and five counts of aggravated assault.

This case is garnering national attention and plenty of questions. According to reports, currently 16 states have 'stand your ground' laws. Arkansas is not one of them. The Natural State does allow for self defense. "If he believes that deadly physical force is going to be used against him, or the person is commiting or about to commit a felony invovling force or violence," said Bill Simpson, Chief Public Defender in Pulaski County.

But Simpson points out there are exceptions. "The law also states deadly physical force shouldn't be used if it can be avoided with complete safety by retreating," he said. Simpson also shared his thoughts on this case. "Apparently the prankster had pulled the prank and he was fleeing, that person was not in any danger," he said. "I don't see that he would ever be justified in using deadly physical force to chase someone down."

A second question being asked is about the curfew for minors in Little Rock. According to ordinances in the city, minors should not be out on the streets, or in a car, on Fridays or Saturdays between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. This shooting happened at 12:45 Saturday morning.

More Stories

Don't Miss

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News

  • Fox 24 News

  • NWA Weather Authority

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA News

  • Fox24 News

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App

  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App

  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App