Faulkner County Declared Federal Disaster Area

Published 04/29 2014 11:35AM

Updated 04/29 2014 05:33PM

Picture via @PatWalkerWX
Picture via @PatWalkerWX
LITTLE ROCK - It took less than one day for President Barack Obama to approve a Major Disaster Declaration for Faulkner County after Governor Mike Beebe made the request to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials on Monday.

This means tornado victims in Mayflower, Vilonia, and other areas of the county can apply for individual assistance as they recover from the storm. Affected residents can call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 to begin the application process. Eligible communities will also receive public assistance to help cover response costs and to rebuild infrastructure.

Governor Beebe is slated to tour more damaged areas Tuesday in western Pulaski County and is expected to make additional requests for federal declarations.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management is working with FEMA to set up Disaster Response Centers in Faulkner County.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News
  • Fox 24 News
  • NWA Weather Authority
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA News
  • Fox24 News
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App
  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App
  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App