Gov. Beebe Requests Federal Disaster Declaration After Winter Storms

Published 12/23 2013 11:08AM

Updated 12/23 2013 11:11AM

LITTLE ROCK, AR -- Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe is reaching out to President Obama in hopes of having several Arkansas counties declared as federal disaster areas. If approved, the declaration would make the Natural State eligible for federal help cleaning up. You can read the entire press release from the governor's office below.

(Press Release) Governor Mike Beebe today sent a letter to President Barack Obama today requesting a major disaster declaration for 15 Arkansas counties impacted by ice and snow damage caused by the winter storm that began on December 5.  Those counties include Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, and Van Buren.

The declaration would make Arkansas eligible to receive federal aid to help the State, cities and counties recover from infrastructure damage.  State-and-federal damage assessments totaled more than $8.6 million.

One death was attributed to the storm, and about 62,000 electrical customers lost power statewide.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News
  • Fox 24 News
  • NWA Weather Authority
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA News
  • Fox24 News
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App
  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App
  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App