New Ruling in Same-Sex Marriage Battle

Published 07/01 2014 05:49PM

Updated 07/01 2014 05:51PM

State-by-state breakdown on gay marriage in the U.S.
State-by-state breakdown on gay marriage in the U.S.
((KNWA/NBC))-- Another win for same-sex marriage supporters this week. A federal judge struck down Kentucky's ban on gay marriage Tuesday.

The ruling is the 23rd in the past year, deciding in favor of marriage equality since the Supreme Court struck down the Defense of Marriage Act last June.

Kentucky now joins Indiana and Utah as the latest states to allow gay marriage.

Arkansas is one of many states involved in the legal back and forth when it comes to gay marriage.

Back in May of this year, same-sex marriage became legal in Arkansas.

But after a series of legal twists, same-sex marriage is not currently allowed in the Natural State.

And a case is now on appeal at Arkansas' Supreme Court.

More than 70 lawsuits are pending in 31 states, including Arkansas.

As it stands now, same-sex couples can marry in 19 states and in Washington, D.C.

Click here for an interactive map with a state-by-state break-down of where same-sex marriages and civil unions are allowed in the U.S.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News
  • Fox 24 News
  • NWA Weather Authority
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA News
  • Fox24 News
  • Razorback Nation
  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App
  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App
  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App