65°F
Sponsored by

Free Family Financial Workshops Begin in Fayetteville Oct. 7

FAYETTEVILLE, AR -- The Fayetteville Public Library and Credit Counseling of Arkansas are teaming up for Saving Money Makes Cents, a series of financial workshops designed with families in mind.
FAYETTEVILLE, AR -- A local library wants to help make your family more financially fit! The Fayetteville Public Library and Credit Counseling of Arkansas are teaming up for Saving Money Makes Cents. It's a three-part series of financial workshops designed with families in mind beginning the week of October 7 and continuing through December with a new series starting in 2014.

You can learn everything from budgeting and setting financial goals to using credit responsibly and avoiding scams. The kids can get in on it too, with money games and learning tools just for them.

"We are excited that we were selected to offer this valuable programming in our community," said Willow Fitzgibbon, Reference Services Manager and coordinator of the grant. "Fayetteville Public Library worked closely with our partners and the city to design a program to help families experiencing financial challenges."

Saving Money Makes Cents will be offering participants incentives such as transportation vouchers from Ozark Regional Transit, catered meals and children's activities at each session. "We wanted to make getting to and participating in these sessions easy for families," said Fitzgibbon.

Saving Money Makes Cents 2013 will include three workshops offered at various location in Fayetteville. CLICK HERE to register online or call the library at (479) 856-7250.

Session 1 - THINK - Spending Mindfully for Security (October)
Session 2 - SPEND - Spending & Saving Strategies (November)
Session 3 - PROTECT - Scams, Insurance & Credit (December)

LifeSource, International
Monday, Oct. 7, 5:30pm
Monday, Nov. 4, 5:30pm
Monday, Dec. 2, 5:30pm
Thursday, Oct. 17, 5:30pm (Spanish speaking)
Thursday, Nov. 14, 5:30pm (Spanish speaking)
Thursday, Dec. 12, 5:30pm (Spanish speaking)

Fayetteville Head Start (Open to Head Start Families Only)
Friday, Oct. 11, 1pm
Friday, Nov. 8, 1pm
Friday, Dec. 13, 1pm

Ivory Conley Head Start (Open to Head Start Families Only)
Friday, Oct. 18, 1pm
Friday, Nov. 15, 1pm
Friday, Dec. 20, 1pm

Old Farmington Road Head Start (Open to Head Start Families Only)
Friday, Oct. 18, 1pm
Friday, Nov. 15, 1pm
Friday, Dec. 20, 1pm

Marshallese Christian Church
Sunday, Oct. 27, 1pm
Sunday, Nov. 10, 1pm
Sunday, Dec. 8, 1pm

Central United Methodist Church (Adults 50+)
Tuesday, Oct. 8, 10:30am
Tuesday, Nov. 12, 10:30am
Tuesday, Dec. 10, 10:30am

Fayetteville Public Library
Sunday, Oct. 13, 1pm
Sunday, Nov. 10, 1pm
Sunday, Dec. 8, 1pm
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

More Local News