Olympic Champion Named To 2017 SEC Legends Class

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Three-time Olympic gold medalist Veronica Campbell-Brown has been named to the 2017 Southeastern Conference Women’s Legend Class, announced Monday morning by the conference office. The SEC Women’s Legends class highlights accomplished former student-athletes, coaches and administrators from all of the 14 member institutions.


Campbell-Brown joined the Razorbacks in 2004 as a transfer from Barton County Community College where she won four NJCAA national titles during her two-year stead.


Her sprint dominance carried over to the NCAA circuit seamlessly as the Jamaican show stopper raced to three first team All-America honors at the indoor national meet during her first season – one of which came from a 200-meter gold. She remains the second-best performer in her signature event in collegiate history.


Most recently, Campbell-Brown captured her eighth Olympic medal as a member of Jamaica’s runner-up 400 relay team last August at the Rio Olympic Games.


The celebrated Razorback will be recognized at the 2017 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament, March 1-5 in Greenville, S.C. Each legend will be honored during halftime of their teams’ first game of the tournament. All 14 individuals will also be honored as a group, as well as participate in an autograph session during the tournament. Complimentary posters of the Legends will be available at the session. 


Below is the complete list of the 2017 SEC Women’s Legends:


ALABAMA – Stacy Potter Inman, Swimming, 1992-95

ARKANSAS – Veronica Campbell Brown, Track & Field, 2004

AUBURN – Kerron Stewart, Track & Field, 1996-97

FLORIDA – Sha Brooks, Basketball, 2007-09

GEORGIA – Tasha Humphrey, Basketball, 2005-08

KENTUCKY – Bernadette Madigan-Dugan, Cross Country/Track & Field, 1981-1985

LSU – Daniela “Dani” Reis, Volleyball, 1989-92

OLE MISS – Van Chancellor, Basketball (Coach), 1978-1997

MISSISSIPPI STATE – Marrissa Harris, Track & Field, 2006-09

MISSOURI Evan Unrau, Basketball, 2000-2004

SOUTH CAROLINA – Megan Matthews Buning – Softball/ Pitcher; 1999-2002

TENNESSEE – Patricia “Trish” Roberts, Basketball, 1976-77

TEXAS A&M Takia Starks, Basketball, 2005-09

VANDERBILT – Dee Davis, Basketball, 2004-07


Season tickets for the 2017 Arkansas men’s and women’s track and field season are now on sale. Razorback fans have the opportunity to purchase a season pass for $40 which includes access to all seven Razorback men’s and women’s track and field home meets.


For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News

  • Fox 24 News

  • NWA Weather Authority

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA News

  • Fox24 News

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App

  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App

  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App