Tubert Wins The Dinah Shore Trophy Award

TULSA, Okla. – University of Arkansas senior Emily Tubert was selected as the 2014 Dinah Shore Trophy Award winner from the LPGA Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Nabisco Dinah Shore Championship announced Friday.


Tubert attended a banquet at the NCAA Championship in Tulsa, Okla., to receive her award.


“This is a tremendous honor for Emily and for our women's golf program,” Arkansas head coach Shauna Estes-Taylor said.  “My philosophy as a coach is to make sure our players are excelling in all areas of life and sport.  Dinah Shore was a pioneer in women's golf and laid a foundation to ensure that women's golf continues to grow and prosper even at the collegiate level.  It recognizes young woman for being great leaders and who excel on the golf course.  Emily was a complete student-athlete and achieved success in school, golf, and in our community.  She has had an amazing impact on our program and this is a great honor to be recognized by the LPGA Foundation and the Dinah Shore Award committee. “


Tubert is the second Razorback women’s golfer to be selected for the Dinah Shore Trophy Award.  Her name joins former Razorback Stacy Lewis who was selected in 2007 after winning the individual NCAA title as a junior.  Arkansas is one of four programs to have multiple winners of the award and is one of six Southeastern Conference schools who have won.  The SEC has won nine of the 19 awards.


The LPGA Foundation introduced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore, and together with FOG and the Nabisco Dinah Shore, developed the Dinah Shore Trophy Award and its criteria. A fundraising organization administered by Eddie Merrins, head golf professional at Bel Air Golf Club in Beverly Hills, Calif., FOG contributes annually to collegiate, high school and junior golf programs throughout the country, and Dinah Shore was considered the “First Lady” of FOG.


A selection committee of the LPGA Foundation chooses the Dinah Shore Trophy Award recipient from nominations submitted by the National Golf Coaches Association.  Nominees for the award must have an overall grade point average of at least a 3.2, have played in at least 50 percent of her team’s scheduled events, maintained a scoring average of 78 or less and demonstrated leadership skills and a commitment to community service.


The perpetual Dinah Shore Trophy is a crystal trophy, created by Tiffany & Co. with an engraving of Dinah Shore. The trophy is housed at Mission Hills Country Club, site of the annual Nabisco Dinah Shore.


For more information on Arkansas women’s golf, follow @RazorbackWGolf on Twitter.






Recipient                                           Year        University

EMILY TUBERT                                 2013        UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS

Amy Anderson                                    2012        North Dakota State University

Pia Halbig                                          2011        University of California, Berkeley

Katie Detlefsen                                   2010        University of Central Florida

Amanda Blumenherst                          2009        Duke University

Amanda Blumenherst                          2008        Duke University

STACY LEWIS                                   2007        UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS

Erica Battle                                         2006        University of South Carolina

Karin Sjodin                                        2005        Oklahoma State University

Adrienne Gautreaux                             2004        University of South Carolina

Katherine Hull                                     2003        Pepperdine University

Meredith Duncan                                 2002        Louisiana State University

Melanie Hagewood                             2001        Baylor University

Lisette Lee                                          2000        Louisiana State University

Mallory Crosland                                 1999        Vanderbilt University

Riko Higashio                                     1998        University of Florida

Kellee Booth                                       1997        Arizona State University

Marcie Clemens                                  1996        Auburn University

Stephanie Neil                                    1995        Wake Forest University


More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

  • KNWA - Northwest Arkansas News

  • Fox 24 News

  • NWA Weather Authority

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA News

  • Fox24 News

  • Razorback Nation

  • KNWA Northwest Arkansas News Mobile App

  • NWA Weather Authority Mobile App

  • Hogville for Sports Mobile App