Rules for Fireworks Within Northwest Arkansas Cities

KNWA

NORTHWEST ARKANSAS — With the 4th of July just a week away, here are some rules for using fireworks within several Northwest Arkansas cities.

Bentonville

The City of Bentonville has an ordinance regulating the discharge of Consumer fireworks in the City limits of Bentonville. Consumer fireworks, except for bottle rockets, sky-rockets, and any fireworks that are mounted to and flies on a stick, may be discharged on private property on the dates of July 3rd and July 4th between the hours of 12:00 pm (noon) and 12:00 am (midnight). 

Fayetteville

Fireworks may only be discharged upon private property with the consent of the property owner and between the hours of 10:00a.m. until 10:00p.m. on July 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and from 10:00a.m. until 11:00p.m. on July 4th and at no other time or date.

If any person less than the age of 16 years is present, an adult (at least 21 years of age) must supervise the discharge of all fireworks.

No skyrockets or aerial fireworks attached to a stick may be discharged.

Public display of fireworks may be allowed upon the application and granting of a public fireworks display permit by the Mayor or his designee.

Rogers

On the dates of July 3 through July 5 of each year, between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., the use of fireworks shall be permitted, with the exception of any aerial fireworks device attached to a stick commonly referred to as a “bottle rocket,” or any other similar device, regardless of its name.

With the exception of fireworks used or exploded by the city for purposes of a public display, no fireworks shall be used or discharged on any city owned property.

No fireworks shall be used or exploded on private property without the property owner’s consent.

The mayor and/or the fire chief shall have the authority to permit the use of fireworks on dates other than July 3 through July 5 for special or extraordinary events sponsored by governmental, educational, religious, civic, benevolent or charitable organizations after all provisions of NFPA 1123 have been met and a special permit has been obtained from the office of the mayor. If any such permits are issued, the displays must be supervised by a competent operator, who has been approved by the fire chief, and shall be of such a nature and must be located, discharged or fired so as not to be hazardous to property or endanger any person. No such display shall be allowed except between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m.

The mayor or his designee shall be authorized to suspend the discharge of fireworks permitted under this ordinance if in the opinion of the fire chief, the suspension of the discharge of fireworks is necessary to maintain public safety.

Persons possessing or using fireworks in violation of this section shall be punished by a fine and/or public service not to exceed ten days. In addition, a law enforcement or code compliance officer is authorized to seize all fireworks from persons violating the terms of this section.

Springdale

No person under the age of 16 shall be allowed to purchase fireworks within the city.

No person shall discharge at any place, public or private, within the city boundaries, any aerial firework(s) which travels on a stick, except a permit may be obtained for a public display of fireworks, as more particularly set out in this section. 

The fire chief shall permit the use of fireworks for outdoor public display when all provisions of NFPA 1123 are met and after all necessary permits have been issued. If any such permit is issued, any such display shall be handled by a competent operator approved by the fire chief, and shall be of such character and so located, discharged or fired so as not to be hazardous to property or endanger any person. No such permit shall be authorized except for the following: 

Between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. on July 1st through July 4th of any year

No fireworks, including firecrackers, sparklers, or Roman candles may be discharged within the city except as set out as follows:

All legal fireworks, except aerial fireworks that travel on a stick, may be discharged on private property between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. on July 1st through July 4th of any year, provided that the owner of the private property consents to such discharge of the fireworks; and 

A person of at least 21 years of age shall supervise the discharge of any fireworks if any person participating in the activity is under the age of 16.



Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

DON'T MISS

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Mega Millions & Powerball Numbers