You don’t have to be a concealed carry permit holder anymore if you want to bring an additional firearm with you on your next hunt. Outdoor enthusiasts can now strap up for safety.
“I thought I was trailing a deer. And when I came around the top of the tree, it was a black bear,” said Mike Travis, an avid hunter.
“Some people just like carrying it for peace of mind, to have a weapon on them,” said Captain William Ruby with the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.
Safety first. That’s an important lesson when it comes to hunting.
“If I’m out in the woods, I’ve always got a pistol with me,” Travis said.
A revised code allows all hunters, regardless if they have a concealed carry permit or not, to arm themselves with a handgun if they feel unsafe. The code states the handgun can only be used for personal protection, and not for hunting.
“As long as you can legally possess a handgun and you want to carry it to go out hunting, it’s fine, as long as its an area where you can legally carry it and you are allowed to legally carry it,” Captain Ruby said.
You never know what you’ll see on a hunt. That’s why you’re allowed to carry that extra firearm. But it’s how you use it which will determine right from wrong.
“There’s a lot of people that will just go out there and shoot anything. But I don’t agree with that. I’m out there for the sport,” Travis said.
If you do use it for hunting purposes, you could face a hefty fine or even jail time.
“In Game and Fish regulations, a Class One violation is a 6-point violation, and $1,000 fine and 0 to 30 days in jail could be imposed as well,” Captain Ruby said.
So if you’re ever staring down an animal, think twice. But if you feel threatened, Arkansas Game and Fish will say, “safety first.”
“As long as everyone follows the rules and regulations on it, then there shouldn’t be any negative consequences along with it,” Captain Ruby said.