Tennessee Lawmaker Announces He Will Skip Inauguration


(via localmemphis.com) — President-Elect Donald Trump is just days away from taking over as commander-in-chief, but you can add Congressman Steve Cohen to the list of lawmakers who will not attend Trump’s inauguration.

Rep. Cohen made the announcement Monday morning at the Dr. King “Be The Dream” commemorative event at the Mason Temple in Memphis.

Hundreds in the audience clapped when Rep. Cohen said he would skip the inauguration for Trump. He joins a growing list of house democrats who won’t be in attendance when the President-Elect is sworn in as the nation’s 45th President.

“This President semi-elect does not deserve to be the President of the United States,” said Rep. Cohen. “He has not exhibited the values, the characteristics that we hold dear, that Doctor King holds dear.”Cohen’s promised no-show at Trump’s inauguration comes after a recent flap Trump had with civil rights icon and Georgia house member Rep. John Lewis, who called Trump an illegitimate president. In response, Trump fired off a series of tweets in which he called Rep. Lewis “all talk and no action.”

Rep. Cohen joins a growing list of lawmakers who have said they would not attend the ceremonies, which also includes:

  •     Rep. Earl Blumenauer, D-Oregon
  •     Rep. Judy Chu, D-California
  •     Rep. Katherine Clark, D-Massachusetts
  •     Rep. Yvette Clark, D-New York
  •     Rep. William Lacy Clay, D-Missouri
  •     Rep. John Conyers, D-Michigan
  •     Rep. Peter DeFazio, D-Oregon
  •     Rep. Mark DeSaulnier, D-California
  •     Rep. Adriano Espaillat, D-New York
  •     Rep. Marcia Fudge, D-Ohio
  •     Rep. Raul Grijalva, D-Arizona
  •     Rep. Luis Gutierrez, D-Illinois
  •     Rep. Jared Huffman, D-California
  •     Rep. Pramila Jayapal, D-Washington
  •     Rep. Barbara Lee, D-California
  •     Rep. Ted Lieu, D-California
  •     Rep. Mark Pocan, D-Wisconsin
  •     Rep. Mark Tekano, D-California
  •     Rep. Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon
  •     Rep. Jose Serrano, D-New York
  •     Rep. Nydia Velazquez, D-New York
  •     Rep. Maxine Waters, D-California

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

FOX24 Video

Trending Stories

Mega Millions & Powerball Numbers