UPDATE: A CLOSER LOOK: Washington County’s 172nd birthday

A Closer Look

Roadside signs and directions to Fayetteville and Bentonville along Interstate 49 in Arkansas.

WASHINGTON COUNTY, Ark. (KNWA/KFTA) —UPDATE/CORRECTION: Washington County, with Fayetteville as the county seat, was founded on October 17, 1828, making the county 192 years, not 172.

While a birthday celebration is usually nice, this is one that was 44 days late — in addition to a 20-year difference.

KNWA/FOX24 apologizes for the error.

Thank you Jerry Hogan for letting us know, and thank you Maylon Rice for the update, too.

“The Act was filed November 30, 1828, and that was the day the bill passed Territorial Legislature,” said Rice.


A special session of the Territorial Legislature agreed to create Washington County 172 years ago.

In Arkansas, Washington County was created by combining parts of Lovely, Crawford, and Carroll counties on November 30, 1848.

This was the state’s 17th county and was named for the first President of the United States George Washington.

The county is located in the Ozark Mountains, an area between the Appalachians and the Rocky Mountains. It has a total area of 952 square miles.

Today it’s the state’s fourth-largest county, third in population among Arkansas’ 75 counties, and Fayetteville is the largest city within the county.

Fayetteville, Arkansas, Northwest Arkansas was originally Native American Country and used as a hunting ground by the Osage and later inhabited by the Cherokee, the first permanent settlers came into the area in the mid-1820s when Arkansas was still a territory. Fayetteville was established as the county seat on October 17, 1828.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

FOX24 Video


More News

Local News Video


More Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Follow KNWA & FOX24 on Facebook

get the app

News App

Weather App

Follow @KNWAFOX24 on Twitter

Mega Millions & Powerball Numbers