If you’re a car collector in Arkansas, it may take you longer to add to your collection.
“This is a 1992 Nissan SER,” said Jim Rowland, antique car collector.
To Rowland, his car is an antique. But now according to a change in the Arkansas law, it’s not.
“A 70’s car you’re gonna’ have to be an automotive purest, or at least someone that likes to tinker [with] your car to keep it running. And people that are abusing it for daily transportation now won’t do it because it will cost more money,” says Arkansas State Representative Jack Fortner.
Fortner filed a bill that changes the qualifications for what’s considered a licensed antique car. Cars must now be at least 45 years old instead of 25.
An antique license plate costs a one time $7 fee. A requirement Fortner says has been abused.
“It was never intended for people to use it to drive daily. You’ll see them all over. Everything from farm trucks to daily transportation, cars that are just beat terribly,” said Fortner.
“There’s a lot of neat cars out there that aren’t 45 years and older and it’d be great to see those cars being maintained and appreciated the way that the law used to state,” said Rowland.
Rowland’s 27-year-old cars are already tagged so they will be grandfathered in. But he said the changes are closing the door on the art of collecting cars.
“You’re gonna’ have a new generation that they’re excited by their own type of cars, ones that they grew up with and ones they read about in magazines.”
To get a license plate you must have the car registered, provide a picture, and prove that you have another car that serves as the primary vehicle.
“I’m trying to protect the integrity of the hobby I’m not trying to limit anybody,” says Fortner.
Governor Asa Hutchinson signed the bill into law last Thursday, March 7.
Those who already have an antique licensed vehicle will be grandfathered in and do not have to repay the $7 fee.