Arkansas Moves Closer to Having Strictest Abortion Laws in the Country

News

With a 77 to 13 vote, the Arkansas House pushed forward a bill restricting women from getting an abortion if they are past 18 weeks pregnant except in cases of rape, incest, or medical emergencies.

“I think this is a step in the right direction,” Arkansas State Representative Robin Lundstrum, said.

Lundstrum sponsored the bill and said the state should take a stronger stance on abortions.

“I think it’s time to make a statement that we are pro-life. Four and a half months is halfway through the pregnancy,” Lundstrum said. “The baby is fully formed, pain-capable all the organ systems are there and full formed so Iaw needs to catch up with the science.”

Once signed by Governor Asa Hutchinson, the bill would make Arkansas the third state to restrict abortion 18 weeks after fertilization, joining Mississippi and North Carolina. 

“I wish abortion weren’t out there, that’s no secret but I think this is a logical step,” Lundstrum said. 

Members of the Arkansas Chapter of The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) are ready to fight back saying this a new low for politicians.

“Arkansas lawmakers are trampling on the constitution and putting the health of Arkansans at risk,” Executive Director Rita Sklar, said. “This bill is dangerously extreme and similar to laws that have been blocked by courts here in Arkansas and other states.”

If the bill is passed, the ACLU said it will file suit against the state.

Other abortion measures are advancing in the natural state; including a proposal to prohibit doctors from performing abortions solely due to a down syndrome diagnosis.

That was endorsed by the Senate Wednesday, March 13.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Watch and Win Homepage Banner

Local News Video

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss