Four out of the six teachers who were selected as 2018 state finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are from the Northwest Arkansas area. 

The finalists were Stacy Dustman with Elza R. Tucker Elementary, Rogers School District, Anna Shaw with J.O. Kelly Middle School, Springdale School District, Cheri DeSoto with Holt Middle School, Fayetteville School District, Cheri DeSoto with Holt Middle School, Fayetteville School District, Amy Burks with Crestwood Elementary, North Little Rock School District and Tonya Hogue with Mayflower Elementary School, Mayflower School District. 

“The National Science Foundation, on behalf of The White House, oversees the program that recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques and technology use in their classrooms,” the news release states. 

A total of 51 teachers were nominated from Arkansas. The finalists could be recognized by a national committee to receive a PAEMST award in mathematics, science, and computer science. 

“Teachers who are selected as national PAEMST awardees each receive a $10,000 award, a presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, DC, for a series of recognition events, professional development activities and an awards ceremony,” the news release states. 

The Finalists will be honored on December 13 at the State Board meeting in Little Rock.