Local Resettlement Group Reacts to President Trump’s Latest Travel Ban


The Trump administration announced new travel restriction. Three international locations were added, Chad, North Korea and Venezuela.

President Donald Trump said there are 8 countries that were unable or not willing to give the kind of security information needed to keep America safe.

Canopy Northwest Arkansas, a resettlement group, said they’ve welcomed 54 refugees from 5 different countries so far.

As of right now, they haven’t resettled anyone here from the new list of banned countries.

Canopy NWA said this ban is different from the first two from Trump’s administration.

“They released this policy that has some pretty intense and sweeping bans on people from certain countries, but it does not include a ban on refugees. So to me I take that as somewhat of a validation that the Trump administration maybe agrees that the processes we have in place may be working,” said Emily Cranelinn, Canopy of Northwest Arkansas.

Individuals can still apply for Visas, but the new restrictions are set to begin after October 18th.

This week, President Trump is expected to announce how many refugees he will let enter the country this year.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Local News Video


More Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Follow KNWA & FOX24 on Facebook

get the app

News App

Weather App

Follow @KNWAFOX24 on Twitter

Mega Millions & Powerball Numbers