Fifteen Arkansas veterans have been selected to be inducted into the Arkansas Military Veterans’ Hall of Fame 2016 Class. 

Six of the veterans are from Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley, including architect Fay Jones and a former mayor of Fayetteville. 

The inductees will be honored at a banquet ceremony at the Embassy Suites in Little Rock on Saturday, Nov. 5. U.S. Senator John Boozman will be presenting the Hall of Fame medallions. 

The veterans from NWA and the River Valley include Major Charles Winfred Atkins, Jr. of Fayetteville, Lt. Col. Dalton Harold Barnes of Alma, Captain Ora Lee Boss of Fayetteville, Staff Sergeant Waldo Gerald Fisher of Van Buren, Lieutenant Junio Grade Euine Fay Jones, of Fayetteville and Private First Class Paul Robert Noland of Fayetteville. 

NWA and River Valley Inductee Fast Facts:

  • Major Atkins of Fayetteville served in the U.S. Army and is the Senior Vice Commander for the Arkansas Military Order of the Purple Heart. 
  • Lt. Col. Barnes served in the U.S. Air Force and U.S Army in WWII, Korea and Vietnam. He established the Home of Hope, a residential care and counseling center in Alma
  • Cpt. Boss served in Vietnam for the U.S. Army. 
  • Staff Sgt. Fisher served in Vietnam for the U.S. Army. and has served 14 years as the President Chapter 416 of Vietnam Veterans of American in Ft. Smith.
  • Lt. Junior Grade Jones served in WWII for the U.S. Navy and is an internationally renowned architect, designing buildings including the Thorncrown Chapel and taught in the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture for 35 years.
  • Private First Class Noland served in the U.S. Army in WWII and served 43 years as Professor and Department Head of the U of A Animal and Poultry Sciences Department. He also served as mayor of Fayetteville.