SEC makes statement on controversial Arkansas vs. Auburn ruling

News

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (KNWA/KFTA) — The Southeastern Conference released a statement Saturday evening expanding on the controversial ruling that took place in the final seconds of the Arkansas Razorbacks and Auburn Tigers football game.

Officials ruled the ball dead after a fumbled snap and a backward spike attempt before a recovery was made.

After review of the play the ruling determining the backward spike to be an incomplete pass was declared to stand, giving Auburn the ball with a loss of downs and allowing the Tigers to kick a field goal and take down the Razorbacks 28-30.

After much protest from Arkansas personnel and fans, the conference qualified the officiating in their statement by invoking an obscure rule, saying, “because recovery of the football was not clearly made in the immediate continuing football action, the ruling on the field was determined to stand.”

After the SEC’s comment was released, Arkansas Athletic Director Hunter Yurachek expressed his opinion regarding the call on twitter.

When asked about the play in his postgame presser, Coach Sam Pittman said ” “I saw a fumble and a spike that went backward six yards.”

Despite the loss, Pittman went on to praise the efforts made by his team.

“I’m proud of them. They fought their butts off and we have a good football team,” he said.

The Razorbacks will go on to face Ole Miss for homecoming at Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium Saturday October 17.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

FOX24 Video

TOP STORIES

More News

Local News Video

DON'T MISS

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Follow KNWA & FOX24 on Facebook

get the app

News App

Weather App

Follow @KNWAFOX24 on Twitter

SEC Schedule

SEC Twitter

Mega Millions & Powerball Numbers