Brown, Harter Earn SEC Honors

janeek brown1_1559070522330.png.jpg

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference announced its 2019 Outdoor Track & Field Awards with Arkansas’ Lance Harter and Janeek Brown each receiving honors, as voted on by the league’s 15 head coaches.

On the women’s side, award recipients include Arkansas’ Janeek Brown (Runner of the Year); Yanis David of Florida (Field Athlete of the Year); Sha’Carri Richardson of LSU (Freshman Runner of the Year); Madi Malone of Auburn (Freshman Field Athlete of the Year); and Arkansas’ Lance Harter (Coach of the Year).

It was previously announced that Arkansas’ Gabe Moore and Taylor Werner were named the Men’s and Women’s Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Werner captured the Triple Crown with the award, having been named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year during Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor seasons.

Brown helped lead Arkansas to the SEC women’s title with a conference title in the 100-meter hurdles. She also finished fifth in the 200 meters and ran a leg on the SEC runner-up 4×100-meter relay. Brown contributed 16-total points at the SEC Championships.

Harter guided Arkansas to its eighth all-time SEC Outdoor Championship and secured the ’18-’19 SEC Triple Crown. This is the 37th-time in Harter’s career that he has earned SEC Coach of the Year honors and the second this year following his indoor honors.

2019 SEC Outdoor Track & Field Awards
Women’s Runner of the Year: Janeek Brown, Arkansas
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Yanis David, Florida
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Sha’Carri Richardson, LSU
Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Madi Malone, Auburn
Women’s Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas

Women’s First Team All-SEC
Imogen Barrett, Florida
Janeek Brown, Arkansas
Morgan Burks-Magee, Arkansas
Kethlin Campbell, Arkansas
Kylee Carter, Auburn
Payton Chadwick, Arkansas
Devin Clark, Arkansas
Yanis David, Florida
Kristen Denk, Vanderbilt
Ellen Ekholm, Kentucky
Jazmine Fray, Texas A&M
Amanda Froeynes, Florida
Gabi Jacobs, Missouri
Kortnei Johnson, LSU
Tonea Marshall, LSU
Rachel Misher, LSU
Jessica Pascoe, Florida
Paris Peoples, Arkansas
Sha’Carri Richardson, LSU
Stamatia Scarvelis, Tennessee
Portious Warren, Alabama
Taylor Werner, Arkansas
Jurnee Woodward, LSU

Women’s Second Team All-SEC
Doneisha Anderson, Florida
Celera Barnes, Kentucky
Sharrika Barnett, Florida
Logan Boss, Mississippi State
Charlotte Cayton-Smith, Mississippi State
Jessica Drop, Georgia
Marie-Josee Ebwea-Excel, Kentucky
Nicole Fautsch, Kentucky
Tiffany Flynn, Mississippi State
Esther Gitahi, Alabama
Tyra Gittens, Texas A&M
Kianna Gray, Kentucky
Lauren Gregory, Arkansas
Tori Hoggard, Arkansas
Brittley Humphrey, LSU
Alexis Jacobus, Arkansas
Wadeline Jonathas, South Carolina
Brenda Kigen, Auburn
Joyce Kimeli, Auburn
Sterling Lester, Georgia
Madi Malone, Auburn
Taylor Manson, Florida
Jordan McClendon, Missouri
Melissa Menghini, Missouri
Marie-Therese Obst, Georgia
Janie O’Connor, Kentucky
Jarra Owens, Texas A&M
Clio Ozanne-Jaques, Ole Miss
Kiara Parker, Arkansas
Jaevin Reed, Texas A&M
Syaira Richardson, Texas A&M
Sophia Rivera, Missouri
Tierra Robinson-Jones, Texas A&M
Abby Steiner, Kentucky
Nikki Stephens, Florida
Amber Tanner, Georgia
Haley Teel, Alabama
Carina Viljoen, Arkansas
Danyel White, Texas A&M
Kiara Williams, Alabama
Milan Young, LSU

Women’s Freshman All-SEC
400m: Doneisha Anderson, Florida
1500m: Imogen Barrett, Florida
3000m Steeplechase: Perri Bockrath, Kentucky
Discus: Tedreauna Britt, Ole Miss
Javelin: Ava Curry, Missouri
High Jump: Sakari Famous, Georgia
5000m: Lauren Gregory, Arkansas
Shot Put: Carisma Holland, South Carolina
Heptathlon: Sterling Lester, Georgia
Hammer: Madi Malone, Auburn
800m: Katy-Ann McDonald, LSU
10,000m: Julia Palin, LSU
100m   : Sha’Carri Richardson, LSU
200m: Sha’Carri Richardson, LSU
100m Hurdles: Masai Russell, Kentucky
400m Hurdles: Masai Russell, Kentucky
Triple Jump: Mirieli Santos, Missouri
Pole Vault: Bailee McCorkle, Arkansas
Long Jump: Alonie Sutton, Tennessee

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Pig Trail Video




Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories