Jacobus Named To The Bowerman Pre-NCAA Watch List


NEW ORLEANS, LA – Lexi Jacobus was named to the Pre-NCAA Watch List for The Bowerman Wednesday afternoon as announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

The list includes eight national leaders in their respective events, along with one of the top javelin throwers in collegiate history. It also includes athletes who have posted some of the best performances in collegiate history so far this year during the indoor season, including Arkansas’ Lexi Jacobus after she notched the second-best all-time performance in the pole vault this past weekend. The junior won the SEC Championship after clearing 4.68m (15-4.25) on her first attempt at the height. She enters the NCAA Championships next week as the No. 1 seed in the competition and is the defending NCAA Indoor Champion in the event.

A six-time First-Team All-American, Jacobus returns this season from a 2018 campaign which saw her vault to a bronze medal at the SEC Indoor Championships, a gold medal at the SEC Outdoor Championships, a gold medal at the NCAA Indoor Championships, and a silver medal at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. She holds a personal best in the event of 4.70m/15-5, the No. 2 mark in program history and a clearance which earned her an Olympic berth during her freshman season in 2016. In 2019, Jacobus has officially cleared 4.51m (14-9.50) that is tied for the second-best clearance in the NCAA this season.

Tori Hoggard who was the SEC runner-up this past weekend received votes for The Bowerman award. The senior is set to compete at the NCAA Championships entering the competition with the No. 2 mark in the country at 4.60m (15-1).

The next Bowerman Watch List will be released by the USTFCCCA on March 13, following the conclusion of the 2019 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships.

The Bowerman 2019 Pre-NCAA Watch List

» Chanel Brissett, Southern Cal
» Jessica Hull, Oregon
» Lynna Irby, Georgia
» Lexi Jacobus, Arkansas
» Kortnei Johnson, LSU
» Ednah Kurgat, New Mexico
» Mackenzie Little, Stanford
» Alicia Monson, Wisconsin
» Sade Olatoye, Ohio State
» Danae Rivers, Penn State

Also Receiving Votes: Michelle Atherley (Miami), Olivia Gruver (Washington), Yanis David (Florida), Tori Hoggard (Arkansas), Dani Jones (Colorado), Allie Ostrander (Boise State)

For the latest information on Arkansas men’s and women’s track & field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pig Trail Video





Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App