No. 1 Arkansas Earns 34 Entries To NCAA West Prelims

werner sec_1558035416286.png.jpg

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Following the SEC Outdoor Championships, last weekend at John McDonnell Field, the No. 1 Arkansas women’s track & field team secured 34 entries into the NCAA West Preliminary Round in Sacramento, Calif. on May 23-25 at Hornet Stadium hosted by Sacramento State University.

The NCAA West Preliminary meet is one of two regional events, which serve as the first round of the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Athletes gain entry into the competition by having one of the top-48 best marks of the region (East or West) in their respective events. In order to advance to the final round in Austin, Texas an athlete must finish among the top-12 best (per region) in their respective events.

Razorback Entries
The 34 Razorback entries represent a balanced mix of sprints, relays, distance and field events. In the sprints, Arkansas will compete in the 100-meters, 200-meters, 400-meters, and 100-meter hurdles. In the distance events, it’ll be the 1,500-meters, 5,000-meters, 10,000-meters, and 3,000-meter steeplechase while off the track, pole vault, high jump, and long jump will highlight Arkansas’ representation in the field events. Both the 4×400-meter relay and 4×100-meter relay will be at the meet entering with the fastest and second-fastest times, respectively.

Year-by-Year Entry Count (National Finish)
• 2019 – 34 (TBD)
• 2018 – 22 (11th)
• 2017 – 28 (6th)
• 2016 – 37 (1st)
• 2015 – 26 (4th)
• 2014 – 21 (9th)
• 2013 – 22 (8th)
• 2012 – 26 (24th)
• 2011 – 20 (14th)

Solo Double Duty
Six Razorbacks, Brown (100mH/200m), Payton Chadwick (100mH/200m), Carina Viljoen (1,500/5K), Sydney Brown (1,500/5K), Devin Clark (5k, 3k steeple), and Taylor Werner (5k/10k) will pursue a final round qualification in two events apiece.

Event Breakdown
100 Meters
Kiara Parker
Tamara Kuykendall

200 Meters
Janeek Brown
Payton Chadwick

400 Meters
Kethlin Campbell
Paris Peoples
Morgan Burks-Magee
Sydney Hammit
Tiana Wilson
Shafiqua Maloney

1,500 Meters
Carina Viljoen
Maddy Reed
Sydney Brown
Megan Underwood

5,000 Meters
Taylor Werner
Lauren Gregory
Carina Viljoen
Devin Clark
Sydney Brown

10,000 Meters
Taylor Werner

100 Meter Hurdles
Janeek Brown
Payton Chadwick
G’Auna Edwards

3,000 Meter Steeplechase
Devin Clark
Rachel Nichwitz

4×100 Meter Relay

4×400 Meter Relay

High Jump
J’Alyiea Smith

Pole Vault
Tori Hoggard
Lexi Jacobus
Desiree Freier
Rylee Robinson
Bailee McCorkle

Long Jump
G’Auna Edwards

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pig Trail Video





Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App