Fifth-Consecutive Bowerman Watch List for Morris

Pig Trail Nation
sandi morris_-4540806315661114481
Countdown to Walmart NWA Championship
September 20 2021 05:00 am
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – For the fifth-consecutive release this season, Sandi Morris appears on the Bowerman Watch List as announced Thursday afternoon. Morris’ name has been recognized among the nation’s best since the February Watch List after breaking the indoor collegiate record. She has won 12 of 14 meets in 2015 including five of six victories during the outdoor season.
Morris broke the school record with her clearance of 4.62m/15-1.75 at the John McDonnell Invitational and became just the fourth woman in collegiate history to clear 15 feet. That mark is currently second among collegians and ranks No. 3 in the world. In her last outing, Morris won the Arkansas Twilight with a final clearance of 4.50m/14-9 before taking attempts at a would-be collegiate record.
The Greenville, S.C., native was the NCAA and SEC indoor champion in the pole vault with meet-record performances in each instance. Morris posted her out-right personal best with a clearance of 4.66m/15-3.5 at the indoor conference meet in Lexington, Ky. She has six winning marks of 15 feet or higher with a minimum clearance of 14-5.25 to win the Arkansas Invitational in January.
Morris is the fourth Razorback to appear on the Bowerman Women’s Watch List, along with former program standouts Makeba Alcide, Regina George and 2011 finalist Tina Sutej. Overall, Arkansas has now been represented 23 times on the Watch List.
The Bowerman award, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the standout male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation In total, the winner from the award’s first five years have won three Olympic medals, two World Championship titles and six World Championship medals overall. The next men’s Watch List is set to be released May 20.
The top-ranked Razorback women begin their postseason May 14-16 with the SEC Outdoor Championships in Starkville, Miss. Morris is one of Arkansas’ three returning conference champions along with Diane Robison at 5,000 meters and Dominique Scott at 10,000 meters. The Razorbacks are the defending SEC outdoor champions.
For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pig Trail Video





Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App