Historic Season Garners Lawson National Honors

Pig Trail Nation
NEW ORLEANS – Jarrion Lawson continues to receive national attention after a record setting NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships and a remarkable senior campaign. Due to his performance throughout the season, Lawson was recognized as the USTFCCCA Men’s Track Athlete of the Year.
Lawson is the first Razorback to win the outdoor award since the new format was presented in 2006. Combining his success from the indoor and outdoor season, Lawson landed on the Bowerman Men’s Watch List for the 12th time in his career. He is the second male athlete from Arkansas to be named a semifinalist for the prestigious award as Omar McLeod became the first last year.
The Bowerman emerged in 2009 as the top award in collegiate track and field presented annually to the most outstanding male and female athletes in the country. Past recipients of the trophy include Olympians and World championship medalists.
The Texarkana, Texas, native etched his name in history as he accomplished a feat that had not been seen in 80 years since track legend Jesse Owens competed in 1936. Lawson joined the decorated Olympian as the only men to win the 100, 200 and long jump triple. With more still in his tank, Lawson also ran a leg of the 4-x-100 relay helping the team to a third place finish. The senior captain led the way for the Razorbacks as he brought in 31.5 points guiding the team to a second place finish, their highest since 2003. The point total for Lawson also broke the modern-era scoring record set by former Razorback Mike Conley.
Lawson pulled in four All-American honors to go with his three gold medals to swell his career totals and make him a 19-time All-American and six-time gold medalist. Lawson also joined elite company in his signature event as he became the fourth long jumper in Razorback history to win both the NCAA indoor and outdoor titles in the event. Claiming the crown in the long jump for the SEC Indoor and Outdoor Championships as well, Lawson played a significant role in helping the Razorbacks secure their 15th SEC Triple Crown.
The Bowerman Men’s Watch List
Devon Allen, Oregon    
Donavan Brazier, Texas A&M
Edward Cheserek, Oregon        
Ryan Crouser, Texas    
Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas
Brandon McBride, Mississippi State      
Nick Miller, Oklahoma State      
Clayton Murphy, Akron 
Lindon Victor, Texas A&M        
Zach Ziemek, Wisconsin
Next Time: Finalists
For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.
– ArkansasRazorbacks.com || On Twitter @ArkRazorbacks || Facebook.com/ArkansasRazorbacks –

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pig Trail Video





Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App