Pig Trail Nation

Razorbacks Finish Runner-Up In USTFCCCA Program Of The Year

NEW ORLEANS, La. – Coming off a 12th-place finish at the 2018 NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Oregon, the Arkansas men’s team finished as the runner-up in the John McDonnell Program of the Year, announced Tuesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

The Program of the Year Award, named for Arkansas’ legendary coach John McDonnell, recognizes the team that has the best-combined results across the NCAA cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field seasons with points distributed based on team finish. To be considered for the award, a team must qualify for the NCAA Championships in all three seasons. Upon completion of the outdoor championship, points from each season are added, with the award recipient being the team with the lowest combined total.

Arkansas capped the year with a final total of 31-points, finishing second by a mere 2.5-point margin behind Alabama and 4.5-points ahead of the third-place team, Stanford.

Program of the Year Top-Five 
1. Alabama – 28.5
2. Arkansas – 31
3. Stanford – 35.5
4. Northern Arizona – 37.5
5. Virginia Tech – 39

Arkansas won the award last season in 2016-17, which saw the Hogs finished fifth nationally in cross county, fifth during indoor and fourth during the outdoor season. The Razorbacks are one of only four teams to ever win the prize (Alabama, Florida State, and Oregon) since its inception in 2008-09 and the only Southeastern Conference team to accomplish the challenging feat.

Prior to last season, Arkansas last won the award in 2012-13, which saw the Hogs place 10th nationally in cross county, first in indoor and third in outdoor.

Past Winners
2016-2017: Arkansas (1st), Oregon (2nd), Ole Miss (3rd)
2015-2016: Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Stanford (3rd)
2014-2015: Oregon (1st), Arkansas (2nd), Texas (3rd)
2013-2014: Oregon (1st), Oklahoma State (2nd), Arkansas (3rd)
2012-2013: Arkansas (1st), Wisconsin (2nd), Oregon (3rd)
2011-2012: Florida State (1st), Indiana (2nd), Texas (3rd)
2010-2011: Florida State (1st), Stanford (2nd), BYU (3rd)
2009-2010: Oregon (1st), Arizona State (2nd), Northern Arizona (3rd)
2008-2009: Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Florida State (3rd)

2018 Outdoor First Team All-America (12)
Kenzo Cotton (200-meters, 4-x-100 relay, 4-x-400-meter relay)
Roy Ejiakuekwu (4-x-400-meter relay)
Obi Igbokwe (400-meters, 4-x-400-meter relay)
Kemar Mowatt (400-meter hurdles, 4-x-100-meter relay)
Hunter Woodhall (4-x-400-meter relay)
Kristoffer Hari (4-x-100-meter relay)
Kevin Harris (4-x-100 relay)
Cameron Griffith (1,500-meters)

2018 Outdoor Second Team All-America (4)
Kenzo Cotton (100-meters)
Gabe Moore (Decathlon)
Derek Jacobus (Decathlon)
Harrison Schrage (Long Jump)

2018 Outdoor Honorable Mention (1)
Larry Donald (110-meter hurdles)

2018 Indoor First Team All-America (7)
Kenzo Cotton (200-meters)
Obi Igbokwe (4-x-400-meter relay)
Kemar Mowatt (4-x-400-meters relay)
Roy Ejiakuekwu (4-x-400-meter relay)
Jamarco Stephen (4-x-400-meter relay)
Cameron Griffith (3,000-meters)
Gabe Moore (Heptathlon)

2018 Indoor Second Team All-America (4)
Jack Bruce (5,000-meters)
Laquan Narin (Long Jump)
Obi Igbokwe (400-meters)
Kenzo Cotton (60-meters)

2017 Cross Country All-America (1)
Jack Bruce

For more information on Arkansas track and field including in-meet updates, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

More Stories


Around Arkansas


National News

Pigtrail Nation


  • Kiara Parker Passing the Competition
  • Courtney Deifel interview 2-19
  • Erich Sullins is Rewriting the Record Books

Latest News