Sprinkle Makes Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

Pig Trail Nation
SPRINKLE TOUCHDOWN_1474165620195.jpg
NEW YORK, N.Y. – Less than a week after setting the Arkansas record for touchdown receptions by a tight end, Jeremy Sprinkle has been named to the 2016 midseason watch list for the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the Friends of John Mackey announced Wednesday.
Sprinkle, a senior from White Hall, Arkansas, is joined by five others from the Southeastern Conference (SEC) on the list of the top 30 tight ends in the nation.
A preseason All-SEC choice by the league’s media and coaches, Sprinkle has caught 18 passes for 194 yards and four touchdowns this season. Among tight ends, his 194 yards rank third in the SEC, while his four touchdown catches tie for the SEC lead and tie for third in the FBS.
Sprinkle has reeled in a touchdown pass in four of six games this season and has totaled eight through his last nine contests dating back to 2015. Last Saturday, Sprinkle made three receptions for 37 yards and a touchdown, surpassing 2010 John Mackey Award winner D.J. Williams to become Arkansas’ all-time leader in touchdown receptions by a tight end with 11.
Sprinkle returned to Arkansas for his senior campaign after a 2015 season that saw him catch 27 passes for 389 yards and lead all SEC tight ends with six receiving touchdowns, good for a tie for ninth among FBS tight ends. All six scoring grabs came during the final seven games of the season. Against Mississippi State, Sprinkle equaled the program single-game record and tied for the most touchdowns by an FBS tight end in 2015 with three.

For his career, Sprinkle has caught 56 passes for 735 yards and 11 touchdowns. Of Sprinkles 56 receptions, 38 have resulted in either a first down or a touchdown for a conversion rate of 67.9 percent. His 11 receiving touchdowns are tied for the SEC’s active career lead among tight ends.
Last season, consensus first-team All-American Hunter Henry became the second Razorback to win the award, following 2010 recipient Williams. Arkansas is the only school to produce multiple John Mackey Award winners.
The 2016 John Mackey Award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The award recipient will be announced on Dec. 7 and then presented live on Dec. 8 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.
For more information on Razorback Football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pig Trail Video





Follow @PigTrailNation on Twitter

Trending Stories

get the app

News App

Weather App